No BS magick & mysticism

Hated and loved by many, Aleister Crowley famously said “the spirits of the Goetia are portions of the human brain.” This may have been the very first hint of the Psychological Model of magick. Fast forward 120 years and today we have a variety of models to choose from, but are they all equal in value?

Side-note: Crowley was not a direct proponent of the psychological model, but that doesn’t stop people from interpreting it that way.

The purpose of this post isn’t to discuss the details and implications of each model. Our aim here is to provide a practical framework that can be used to approach the esoteric.

However… for the complete beginner looking to get acquainted I will include a brief overview of the most popular models below. You can tap on the title of each to get a short description.

Magic Model (or Energy Model)

This model suggests that magic operates through some form of objective, external force or energy. It posits that spells, rituals, and other magical acts have an effect on the world through supernatural, metaphysical, or subtle energies. This model might include the belief in universal energies or forces that can be manipulated through magical practice.

Spirit Model

This model is more specific than the general magic model and posits that magical effects are produced through the intervention of non-physical entities or spirits. These could be deities, spirits of the dead, angels, demons, elementals, or other types of spiritual beings. Practitioners working within this model often engage in practices like invocation, evocation, channeling, or mediumship to interact with these entities.

Mind Model

This model views magical practices as primarily psychological tools. The changes brought about by magic are seen as changes in the practitioner’s mind, which then may influence their perception and interaction with the world.

Information Model